My first sponsorship deal

24 Jun

Yesterday I collected my London 2012 Olympics uniform – sponsored entirely by adidas – to wear throughout the Games. It was an odd experience at first, as I made my way to what seemed to be an abandoned warehouse that had been covered with Olympics-themed bunting to brighten the place up.

After collecting my official accrediatation pass, I waited patiently with hundreds of other Games Makers to go through to grab my first piece of kit:

Waterproof jacket (XXS)

Taking inspiration from the UK’s heritage and culture, influenced by the historic Grenadier Guards uniform, Wimbledon Tennis and Henley Regatta with a modern twist, the kit has been designed by LOCOG with adidas and fashion retailer Next. The regal purple and poppy red colour themes running throughout the uniform is vibrant, fresh and plush.

I’m informed that this lightweight jacket comes with its own self-storage bag inside one of the pockets, so it can be rolled up and clipped to my bag or the belt of my trousers. Although, with no instructions, I’m not even going to attempt this (especially when I know I’ll be working inside.)

Polo shirt (XXS)

Replicating the style and colours of the jacket, this zipped polo shirt continues the military theme with its high collar and epaulettes.

Trousers (XXS)

These stone-coloured trousers are practical, comfortable and fashionable.

Socks (One size fits all)

To keep up appearances, each Games Maker has been provided with two pairs of grey trainer socks.

Trainers (3.5 UK)

I was pleasantly surprised to know that adidas’ special edition Games Maker Fluid trainers are the sports brand’s most sustainable shoe and also come in half sizes. Lightweight and comfortable, these feel more like slippers than trainers, which is a huge benefit when I know I’ll be on my feet for hours at a time. Exclusive to Games Makers, it’s the ultimate memento.

Cap (One size fits all)

I’ve not worn one of these since school. I wasn’t keen on them then. That’s all I have to say on the matter.

Bag

A multi-purpose bag (which can be worn in four different ways) to fit in my water bottle, umbrella, note book and other essential items, to deter Games Makers from bringing too many personal items to the stadiums. It also has a pocket for my special Olympic Volunteer Oyster card which will automatically convert into a London Travelcard (zones 1-6) from my first shift.

Water bottle 

Made from two recycled Coca Cola bottles (another sponsor), this is definitely a functional, and welcome, part of the kit.

Umbrella 

One of the plus points of LOCOG’s communications department is that it has a personality, reflected in the fact that the unbrella’s carry case reads ‘Just in case’. Hopefully, they won’t need to be used during the two weeks. But, at least the organisers have thought of everything.

Watch 

Something I wasn’t expecting was a red and purple Swatch which will make a great limited edition souvenir from the Games.

Overall, this is a fantastically functional uniform, which has an emphasis on attention to detail, has helped make one design suit all. I look forward to stepping outside my door at the end of July for my first shift.

One Response to “My first sponsorship deal”

  1. mrsmimby August 5, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    “Taking inspiration from the UK’s heritage and culture, influenced by the historic Grenadier Guards uniform, Wimbledon Tennis and Henley Regatta with a modern twist, the kit has been designed by LOCOG with adidas and fashion retailer Next. The regal purple and poppy red colour themes running throughout the uniform is vibrant, fresh and plush.”….hmmm are you sure – bit of a coincidence how the ‘poppy red’ matches McDonalds, and the ‘regal purple’ matches Cadburys…

    All the volunteers look great though all the same!

Leave a Reply

Prime Time Blog

PR-IN-MY-EYES

belfastdad

parenting, music, food, photography, tech, fashion

Global Talents

Let's have a laugh about all the silly situations we find ourselves into on today's job market

Mashable

Prime Time: 'PR in my eyes'

A Cup of Lee

Digital Communications in Ireland

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

PR Communications Box

Where Journalism and Marketing Entwine

Juddz' shower of thoughts

My shower of thoughts will detail fresh ideas to intrigue and inspire

Opinions of a PR Addict

Taking on the PR world one internship at a time.

